Staycation all I ever wanted

Greetings Team Daddy, 

Thanks for stopping by.  It has been a really busy since Fathers’ Day.  I have been settling into my new vocation quite well or so I though. I am a doer. Many times people have made fun of my “to do” list. Look I like to have “accomplishments’” every day it works for me.  To tell you the truth there is a pure gratification that comes with crossing a chore you’ve done off a list.  Ah simple pleasures. 

This year due to Baby and the fact that our income has been cut in half, we are Staycationing this summer.  Hooray after over a year of pretty much staying home we get to stay home for vacation.  An added bonus, we get to do all the yard word and organizing during that time.  Man this is going to be great!  Ok I’ll stop with the sarcasm, those of you not from New England may not find that at all funny but it was meant as a joke none the less. Having a way with sarcasm around here is something of a common ground.  Often comments are considered funny that in other parts of the country you get your face punched in for uttering such an insult.  It is an aliquant art form, one that takes a life time to master.  But only a moment to relish.  Since I am no taking off this year I thought I would share some shots from a trip my wife and I did a few summers ago.  We toured the BVI for a couple weeks and can’t wait to bring our daughter there, just beautiful.    

I digress, sorry Team Daddy.  The summer solstice is finally here and it is bringing on the heat in a major way.  It also marks 6 months for our daughter.  I can’t believe it has already been 6 months.  I am finally starting to realize what everyone has been saying with the ever present sentiment of “enjoy it, it goes by fast” You know what?  They were totally right. 

 It was in that sweltering heat that my daughters’ constant whines and cry’s from a nap missed that I had a personal breakdown.  It was strange because it lasted for about 5 seconds and only did minor damage. Not unlike the extremely rare earthquake we had last summer.  She had missed her nap because daddy had to go somewhere and was figgin pissed off and no I am not being sarcastic.  It was about 3 hours of nonstop whinning when while cleaning the toilet extremely unfavorable toilet water splashed down on my new Nike Airmax sneakers.  A brief brilliant flash of bright white light.  AAAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!  Our entire home shook.  It was there and then alone with my own immaturity, or perhaps it was that last bit of the old selfish me.  Still holding on waiting for me to reconnect.  Like an anxious pal waiting by the lift on a powder day, that spirit only holds so long.  I thought ”I can’t ever let this happen again”.  What about myself do I have to learn to ensure this?      

The answer, yet another adjustment for Daddy.  I was forever focused on the chores and accomplishments I was unable to achieve in a day. My wife would come home to childish complaints from Daddy about stuff he didn’t get to do.  Not the best way to attract attention from the one who is out there working all day.  Now since that moment I have had nothing but delight and gratitude.  I focus on all of the positive I created for our world each day.  Sometimes that list is short. Something like taking our daughter for a walk to our “meditation spot”, or cooking dinner even cleaning the toilet.  All done in the name of appreciation and gratitude. 

Raising our children is important work it should to be taken with respect and understanding.  I often wonder if teachers made as much as doctors would we have more children reaching for higher goals?  Perhaps a result could be there would be more doctors.  More value could be given our teachers and anyone who actively enriches his or her community by way of sharing their common wealth of knowledge.

 So onward we go where many daddies’ have gone before.  A world where small accomplishments make measurable differences in a long life.  Letting go to that which now holds me back.  Embracing the challenges faced by a new man.  One who does for many and is proud of it.  This post is dedicated to those few that have and still are sharing their truth with me and allowing me to do the same.  Also my grandmother Nonnie who I miss every day.  Happy Birthday We love you!  Thank you for all your gifts shared. 

As always have Fun!

Your Friend Daddy Adjustment.

About daddyadjustment

I am the worlds leading expert on myself.

Posted on July 4, 2012, in New Dad Survival Guide, Our story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. A very brave and honest entry. Your free spirit will continue to enlighten those that follow you.
    and as always,extremely well penned. Nona

  2. Damn that’s honest. So many conflicting emotions blast through the words. You are doing the hard work which often leaves blisters. Very encouraging you are healing without the calluses.

    • Wow thank you for such an awesome comment! Its fun to tell on yourself. I find it to be a powerful place to come from. I am lucky to have people like you who listen, makes this livingroom reporter warm and fuzzy.

Leave a Reply

